Kansas Graduated License Working
Associated Press - Sat 10:22 PM 10/20/2012
The number of accidents involving drivers 14 through 16 years old dropped from more than 5,000 in 2004 and 2005 to fewer than 3,000 last year.
Safety experts say a graduated driver's license law that went into effect in 2010 and increased use of seat belts have helped reduce accidents involving teenagers in Kansas.
State transportation records show the number of accidents involving drivers 14 through 16 years old dropped from more than 5,000 in 2004 and 2005 to fewer than 3,000 last year.
The graduated license law requires all teen drivers to hold a learner's permit for 12 months before obtaining a restricted or unrestricted license. Teen drivers are prohibited from using cellphones for the first six months after getting a full license, having more than one non-sibling minor passenger and driving after 9 p.m. except to and from work or school.
Associated Press information from: The Wichita Eagle